At the top of this image of restaurant management software is the option to "Bill Delete." Does the name of Cain's Mysterious Protector "Bill DeLeat" derive from "Bill Delete?"

Rachel Maddow recently pointed out that Herman Cain at a Republican Debate had quoted some lines from a Pokemon movie song and identified the writer as a great poet. This suggests to me that Cain is truly detached from reality and social norms. Did he really imagine that nobody would find out that he was quoting a children’s movie and not a great poet? Does he really think that people are that gullible that they don’t know the difference between great poetry and children’s platitudes? Probably it is because he himself and the people he hangs around with don’t know the difference.

I think I found another instance of Cain trying to be cleverly deceptive. In three of his books, Cain mentions a supervisor named Bill DeLeat who saved his job. He says that when he had his first management job at Pillsbury, running the Philadelphia Region Burger Kings, Mr. DeLeat helped him fight a conspiracy by Burger King executives in its Miami home office.  Apparently the executive back in the home office started hating him because, according to Cain, he had a different background. Suddenly and miraculously, he starts reporting to a new CEO named Bill DeLeat who helps him out of the jam. The problem is that I have been unable to find any information about any vice-president named William or Bill DeLeat at Burger King around 1984-1985.

I wonder if Cain made up this Character. Could this be some kind of alias that Cain was assuming, perhaps writing letters in his name to save himself from being fired?  He refers to Mr. DeLeat as a “CEO of Self,” I find it terribly suggestive that he is an imaginary CEO made up by Mr. Cain’s own self.

Why did Cain get into such trouble that he was in danger of losing his career? Did he perhaps delete bills that would have made his region results look bad? Was “Bill Deleat”/”Bill Delete” the way he saved himself when he presented poor results to the managers at Burger King? Is Cain making a little inside (his head) joke that he reported to a new manager named “Bill Deleat” who fixed things for him?

I know that this sounds paranoid on my part and I certainly do not want to falsely accuse Mr. Cain of such incredible deception.  My Google and dozens of other searches have failed to turn up anything on Mr. DeLeat. Therefore, if anybody has any information about William or Bill DeLeat, an executive vice president at Burger King around 1984-1985, according to Cain, I would deeply appreciate hearing from you. It would put my mind at rest to know that Mr. DeLeat was in fact an executive at Burger King during this period and not an imaginary character made up by Mr. Cain.

Here are the references to Bill DeLeat in Cain’s books

After my reassignment to Philadelphia, my new boss, Bill DeLeat, a true CEO of Self, paid my region a visit and spent three days intensively examining its operations. He then told me it was one of the best, if not the best-performing region in the country. (from “This is Herman Cain,” pg. 58)

The plot to get me fired played out during my tenure as vice president of the Philadelphia region. It involved my Pillsbury background, a direct report, a franchisee, and a higher-level officer of Burger King who felt threatened by my performance. Following a reassignment of region reporting relationships, my new boss, Bill DeLeat, then an executive vice president of Burger King Corporate, came to visit my region to determine firsthand how things were going. The financials were all exceeding our annual targets, but as Bill put it, “There are a lot of people in Miami [corporate headquearters] who do not like you and want you fired.”

     I felt crushed since after only a year and a half as regional vice president, my region was exceeding its performance goals. After spending about three intensive days in my region, Bill also told me that it was unquestionably one of the best regions, if not the best region, in the company.

     Bill started a campaign in corporate to correct the unfair and inaccurate perception of my performance. Bill DeLeat was one of those angels for whom you can only be thankful, especially when things are so unfair. Since the corporate attitudes toward me were personal and not performance based, they did not change much, but Bill provided strong support and watched my back while I kept doing my job. If handled differently, the entire episode could have ended my corporate career. Period. ( from “They Think You’re Stupid,” pp. 193-194)

That there was a realignment of the regions which report to the divisional executive vice presidents. My new boss would be Bill DeLeat, who I knew but with whom I had not worked directly. He spent three days in Philly with me evaluating my operations from top to bottom. Each department director presented an update on their respective… (from “Leadership is Common Sense,” pg. 58)

It is sad that the corporate media has not investigated this episode in Cain’s life. What was the nature of this “direct report?” What were the charges against Cain that were so serious that if they had “been handled differently,” it would have led to the end of his corporate career. “Period?” How did the mysterious angel, that CEO of Self, “Bill DeLeat” save him?

Again, if anybody knows anything about Bill DeLeat or can find any research material on him, please let me know.